photomoments
Jerome
Artist Semaan Khawam is inspired by the freedom of birds
0:00
-11:08

Artist Semaan Khawam is inspired by the freedom of birds

“My nickname is Birdman. So, I use birds in all of my work. For me, birds can travel the world without thinking of borders, you know? Something I don't have the luxury of.”

Semaan Khawam is artist-in-residence at Allison Lochhead’s ‘Art for Peace’ exhibition, showing at Appetite’s Astley Walk arts space in Newcastle-under-Lyme.

He tells me more about the inspiration for his sculptures and paintings, and why he can never return to the place of his birth, Syria.

More about Appetite's Art for Peace exhibition here: https://www.appetite.org.uk/event/art-for-peace-by-alison-lochhead/

0 Comments
photomoments
Jerome
Nature. Culture. Encounters, documented.